Week 10 – Class Activity #8 – Fiber Art Social Network

Below is my addition to the social network that was cerated in Glenn’s classroom. I posted mine up and connected it to Yonathan’s – reason being that of the first class activity, when we headed out to Seal Beach to do our plaster casting, he was the first person out there that I met and got to know through the assignment.

img_8907

social-network

Above, is my own personal social network that includes family members, friends and my intramural basketball team. There are connection all over when you start to put the pieces together, like the fact that my best friend Liz, is actually friends with my teammate Tyler through their athletic training major programs, or how my boyfriend and Liz’s boyfriend are best friends and even how my 3 roommates are all best friends. The connections are overlooked until you have to really think about the ways that everything gets put together.

  1. Do you think of the term “Social Network” as applying to your RL life and your RL, physical friends? Or mostly to Online & Mobile tools that connect you to people in cyberspace?
    • Well before taking on this class activity, I always thought the phrase “social network” was just an online community that you use to connect online, but now after this assignment I realize that our whole life is technically a huge social network.
  2. Does Dunbar’s Number make sense to you? That we can only have around 150 truly meaningful relationships, and any others we know will be in more fragmentary ways?
    • I think this statement is valid. I feel that 150 relationships is a stretch, I feel that number is sort of high. As shown above in my own “social network,” I don’t have many people that I would consider friends or people that I willingly want to know and be in contact with, so that adds to the reason that I feel 150 relationships is a stretch.
  3. What does it mean to have 1,000 or 2,000 or 5,000 Facebook “friends”? Who are these people? What sorts of relationships do you have to them?
    • Facebook is its own community. I have around 700 friends and to say that I interact and keep a growing relationship with each of them is a complete lie. I may have went to high school with them, met them in college, played sports with or against them; however, I don’t know each and everyone of them on a personal level. I feel that’s the deal with every social media platform, you follow people and they follow you; but in reality, you both most likely don’t know each other as well as your real, closest friends.
  4. When we visualized our Art110 Social Network, or when you visualized your personal Social Network, did anything surprise you? Did you find any connections or relationships that you hadn’t thought about or realized any different connections?
    • Something that I found crazy was that my best friend and roommate is actually friends with one of my teammates on my basketball team, that I met in my freshman year of college. I always knew that they knew each other and were in the same program, but it was always something that was kind of in the back of my mind.
  5. What’s your Personal Number? How many people would you like to have close relationships with in your life? 1? 10? 100? 1,000?
    • I would say my personal number is 20-25. I would like genuine, real friendships/relationships with at least 20 people but no more than 25.
  6. Do you have more “friends” on Facebook or some other platform than are truly your “friends”? What is your relationship to those “extra friends”? Have these weak ties ever brought you new resources like a job opening, someone to date, a cool event, info for something you were working on, etc?
    • Oh yeah! Like I said earlier, I have around 700 friends on Facebook and on Instagram and I probably genuinely know, on a personal level, 10-15 people, that aren’t family members though. These people that I have on these social media platforms are exactly what you said “extra friends” that I kind of just have in my life. These people really haven’t done anything beneficial for me, but they also haven’t done anything detrimental to me and my life either.
Leave a Reply

