Week 9 – Class Activity #7 – Art Care Package

This week’s activity was a little unusual given the fact that when I first read it, I thought to myself “what the heck?” But as time passed by, I grew to like it more and more.

I decided to send this art care package to my parents* and show them different aspects of my life while I’ve been living down here in Long Beach.** I’m from Lindsay, CA, which is a town of about 13,000 people where everyone knows everyone, literally. My whole family has lived there all their lives and that’s known as my “home,” so when I moved away for college, it was a BIG deal.

While I’ve been down in Long Beach, I’ve really expanded my horizons with different activities and new experiences. I have a few things in my envelope that portray the different experiences that I’ve encountered.

First is a receipt for a money order, of $535.00 which was for my first month’s rent. For my first two years of college, I lived in the dorms on campus, so going from that to renting a house with some friends, was a huge change. This was one of those experiences that I went through that was really eye-opening because I started living on my own and having to cook for myself and clean after myself and as crazy as it sounds, I didn’t have to do that in those first two years at the dorms. So I wanted to show my parents some type of proof of my living situation and how I’ve transformed over the years.

My second piece is a slide from a powerpoint presentation for the Pre-PT club that I was recently became the Treasurer of. This was a super exciting time of my life, because yeah I’m in college, but I finally got involved with something other than academics. I became the Treasurer of this club to show leadership in my character and I think that’s a great accomplishment for someone, who is sorta an introvert, like me to do.

Another content of from my envelope is a Dodger baseball ticket. So in my childhood, I maybe went to 1 or 2 baseball games, one of which was a Minor League baseball game, and one Dodger game, but since then I hadn’t been to one. I recently went to a game with my boyfriend, best friend and her boyfriend, and it had been such a long time since I had been to one, I forgot how cool the atmosphere was. This is one of those experiences that I wouldn’t have gotten if I wasn’t going to school here. I really enjoyed the game although I never really got the “hype” of baseball, it was fun.

One more item that I had in my care package to my parents was a registration confirmation email to do a Trapeze class on the Santa Monica Pier. My boyfriend recently turned 22 years old and I surprised him with the class. He and I both had no experience in this particular activity but were both very excited to try it out and this is another one of those things that I would have never seen myself doing if I didn’t live in Southern California.

I recently got a Costco membership and that was a real “adult” thing for me to do. My roommate and I went halfers on it and now we use it for literally anything and everything. We felt that since we are now living on our own and making our own food, it’s only the appropriate thing to do.

Another part of my life that changed since I’ve lived in Long Beach is that I recently received a scholarship for $1500. An organization back home, known as the Lindsay District Hospital Guild, has a scholarship that they give out every academic year for students who are studying medical related fields and since I am a kinesiology major, I was able to apply. I am super grateful for the consideration they gave my application and that I was worthy enough of getting the reward. This money has helped so much in my living situation and the different expenses that come with living on my own.

Lastly, I have a print out of my class schedule for the Fall 2016 semester. This is the whole reason I am living down here in Long Beach. I attend this amazing school and that’s been the life-changing aspect of my life since the fall of 2014. My life has totally changed since then, and it’s honestly only been for the better. I have enjoyed every semester here and have never been so happy and proud to let people know where I go to school.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Now that I’ve mentioned the meaning of each item in my envelope, I’ll answer the questions provided to us:

  1. How is sending someone an ACP similar to sending someone a Snapchat?
    • This is similar to sending a Snapchat in that what we usually send and post on our Snapchats is something that we’re doing at a specific time or that is new to us, and these items are all things that I’ve done and somethings that were new to me.
  2. How is sending someone an ACP different to sending someone a Snapchat?
    • This is different from sending a Snapchat because the person we’re sending this ACP to is getting the physical items rather than just a picture, which is what Snapchat is.
  3. What do you think of ephemera? Is it precious? Or trash? Does it gain in value over time? Does your grandma’s parking ticket from half a century ago mean something to you? What about her tickets from Woodstock? What might your grandkids think if you one day gave them the bead bracelet you wore at Coachella?
    • I think ephemera is interesting. I wouldn’t say that it’s precious or trash, I think ephemera has meaning to someone depending on what it is specifically. In the examples used in the question, I feel those specific things depend on the people that are telling the stories as well as the people who are getting told the stories. I’ve never heard old stories from my grandparents so I can’t say that I felt a certain connection to her and the things she did when she was younger; however, I’m sure there are other people that have that kind of relationship with their grandparents. So I wouldn’t say those particular areas are meaningless or useless, although to some people they’re not so much relatable to them.
  4. Is there a difference between art that is seen by many people, like a painting in the Museum of Modern Art, and art that is seen by few, like the ACP you send to someone?
    • Yeah I feel that when people create a piece that is going to be framed and displayed in museums there may not be so much internal meaning within it, like there is with these ACPs. For example, these different items that I’ve included in my ACP are not items that I would necessarily put in a display that everyone at school is going to see.
  5. People sometimes say things like prepare a meal with love. Can you prepare a meal with love as fast as you can get food at a McDonald’s drive-thru? Does an ACP have the possibility of containing a sort of “love” different from a Snapchat?
    • I think the meaning behind prepare a meal with love is to put your all into making a meal and to make it for people you love. Yeah, it may not be a fast task but the time taken into preparing it just right is what makes it special. I think an ACP contains more “love” than a Snapchat in that, like stated earlier, these are the actual physical items that we used to do the specific experiences and activities we participated in, rather than just getting an electronic picture that was sent through the internet.
  6. You can take a Snapchat and a friend on the other side of the globe can view it, all within seconds. To make an ACP and send it even to a nearby friend will take days. Does this time and effort difference mean something? How is fast better? How is slow better?
    • Personally I feel it does mean something because the faster method gives the experience a more time-friendly feelings, like they’re able to possibly live within our memories with us maybe. But with the slow method, they have to wait to get the package and the essence of it is kinda lost. On the other hand, the slow method could possibly add more importance to the ACP for different kinds of people. I really think this whole activity and the essence that it brings is dependent on the people that are involved with it.

 

* I covered both addresses for my parents and mine.

** I’m not sure that I executed this activity correctly but I did my interpretation of it and I’m pretty happy with the outcome.

 

Leave a Reply

